18.2 C
New York
Thursday, May 26, 2022

How Many Players Have Won Back-to-Back NFL MVP Awards?

For the first time ever, a player won back-to-back NFL MVP titles. Who was it?

The “who has the most nfl mvps” is a question that can be answered by looking at the list of NFL MVP winners. There have been 10 players who have won back-to-back awards since 2000.

From Bart Starr and Johnny Unitas to current luminaries Aaron Rodgers and Peyton Manning, several of the finest quarterbacks in NFL history have earned the MVP Award at some time in their careers. The NFL MVP is sometimes referred to as the Best Quarterback Award for a reason.

Although the NFL MVP Award has existed in some form since 1938, the Associated Press’ version has been formally acknowledged by the league since 1957. In that time, only a small number of players have earned consecutive MVP Awards, and all four are among the most important to ever play the game.

Cleveland Browns running back Jim Brown (1957-58)

Cleveland Browns running back Jim Brown in 1958.

Cleveland Browns running back Jim Brown in 1958. In 1957 and 1958, Jim Brown of the Cleveland Browns earned the NFL MVP award. | Art Rickerby/Diamond Images/Getty Images

Brown is the first player in NFL history to win the MVP Award as a rookie as of January 2022. As a result, he is the first player in NFL history to earn MVP honors in each of his first two seasons.

In 1957, the Syracuse icon rushed for 942 yards and nine touchdowns before increasing his totals to 1,527 yards and 17 touchdowns the following year. Brown earned another MVP award in 1965, his last season, when he carried for 1,544 yards and 17 touchdowns.

Joe Montana is a quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers (1989-90)

Joe Montana threw five touchdown passes in Super Bowl XXIV, including three to Jerry Rice, as the 49ers defeated the Broncos 55-10. pic.twitter.com/cBEIsVrbkZ

January 28, 2017 — Yahoo Sports (@YahooSports)

It’s easy to forget that Montana didn’t earn his first NFL MVP Award until he was 33 years old, in 1989. In 13 games, the Notre Dame graduate threw for 3,521 yards, 26 touchdowns, and eight interceptions while completing 70.2 percent of his passes. Montana’s 1989 season was the first occasion a player earned MVP honors while missing three games in a non-strike season during the 16-game era (1978-2020).

Montana tossed five touchdowns and won Super Bowl MVP in a 55-10 blowout of the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl 24 later that season.

Despite missing one game during the 1990 season, Montana earned another MVP Award with a 61.7 completion %, 3,944 yards, 26 touchdowns, and 16 interceptions. Voters evidently cared more about his 14-1 record, which is why Warren Moon of the Houston Oilers, who passed for 4,689 yards and 33 touchdowns on a 9-7 club, was left out.

Green Bay Packers quarterback Brett Favre (1995-97)

On MNF in 1996, the #Packers and #49ers faced off.

Chris Jacke’s 53-yard field goal gave the Packers a 23-20 overtime victory. This is his fifth of the night. This was the Packers’ only touchdown. A contentious 59-yard touchdown pass. @BrettFavreFavreFavreFavreFavreFavreFavreFavreFavreFavreFa The referees hopping up and down is a classic. pic.twitter.com/e3rTZ4pMYJ

January 1, 2022 — Kyle Malzhan (@KyleMalzhan)

As of this writing, Favre is the only player in modern league history to win three AP NFL MVP Awards in a row. He went 37-11 as a starter from 1995 to 1997, completing 60.8 percent of his throws for 12,179 yards, 112 touchdowns, and 42 interceptions.

Favre’s 1997 MVP Award is a fascinating element of his career. He and Detroit Lions running back Barry Sanders shared the Associated Press MVP award, but Sanders, who rushed for 2,053 yards on 6.1 yards per carry in his last season, also took home the PFWA and Sporting News MVP awards.

Despite being the reigning Super Bowl winner on a 13-3 team, Favre concluded the 1997 season with a 59.3 completion %, 3,867 yards, 35 touchdowns, and 16 interceptions. His case was undoubtedly aided by his 13 triumphs, as opposed to the Lions’ nine.

Peyton Manning is a quarterback who has won many Super Bowls (2003-04; 2008-09)

Manning is the only five-time NFL MVP in the league’s history, and he may continue to be the only one for a long time. In 2003, the Colts veteran shared his first MVP award with Tennessee Titans standout and AFC South opponent Steve McNair.

Manning, the first overall choice in 1998, completed 67 percent of his passes for 4,267 yards, 29 touchdowns, and ten interceptions. In 14 starts, McNair threw for 3,215 yards, 24 touchdowns, and seven interceptions on 62.5 percent of his throws. He also scored four touchdowns on the ground.

Manning has previously split the AP MVP Award with another player. In 2004, he shredded defenses for 4,557 yards, 49 touchdowns, and just 10 interceptions.

The moment Peyton Manning shattered Dan Marino’s single-season record for most touchdown passes (2004). pic.twitter.com/7XN79FcdKB

May 19, 2021 — Pro Football Hall of Fame (@ProFootballHOF)

Manning was named MVP four years later after completing 66.8% of his throws for 2,002 yards, 27 touchdowns, and 12 interceptions. His candidacy was very probably aided by the Colts’ season-ending nine-game winning run.

Manning led a 14-2 Indianapolis Colts squad to a career-high 68.8% completion percentage, 4,500 yards, 33 touchdowns, and 16 interceptions a year later. Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints, who passed for 4,388 yards, 34 touchdowns, and 11 interceptions in defeating Manning’s Indianapolis Colts in Super Bowl 44, had the last laugh.

On Facebook, follow Sportscasting. @sportscasting19 is our Twitter handle.

The 101 Greatest NFL Players by Uniform Number: 00-9 RELATED: The 101 Greatest NFL Players by Uniform Number: 00-9

Watch This Video-

The “nfl mvp 2019” is a question that asks how many players have won back-to-back NFL MVP awards. There are currently 6 players who have done this.

Frequently Asked Questions

Has anyone won 3 MVPs in a row NFL?

In the NFL, its been done before. In 1978 and 1983 Joe Montana won three straight Most Valuable Player awards.

Which NFL player has won the most MVP awards?

A: That would be Tom Brady with 5 MVP awards.

Has an NFL kicker won MVP?

A: No, there has never been an NFL kicker to win MVP.

  • nfl mvp 2020
  • 2017 nfl mvp
  • 2003 nfl mvp
  • 2016 nfl mvp
  • nfl mvp 2004
Latest news
Related news